Daily challenge · Lifestyle · working mum

The only way is up

IMG_4369 (1)

I was a teenager when I started to be fascinated about rock climbing.

I read many books and each time I was going through those experiences, I could almost feel the adrenaline, the fear and the conquers.

But the same way I was eager to do it, I also felt fear.

So much could go wrong.

So I kept reading and dreaming about it.

Last year, due to a very unfortunate situation, I saw myself being the receiver of a monetary compensation. It didn’t make me a millionaire, or brought an early retirement. But I decided turning a bad thing, into a good one and use that money to do things I like.

I enrolled in a rock climbing course.

On my first day I was like a kid in a candy store.

I bet I had sparkly eyes and a silly smile on my face.

I listened carefully to all the instructor was saying. I wanted to learn as much as I could.

Deep inside I was afraid that experiencing it, would be a disappointment.

Imagine if I didn’t feel anything like I felt reading those climbing adventures.

Or if I found out I had vertigo, or acrophobia?

All of this was going through my head while I was getting ready for my first climb.

The harness was on. My rope knots had been check and my partner was ready.

I started to climb, up up to the top.

All was good, a bit straining on my arms and legs, but I was fit enough to cope with it.

Coming down was a bit more tricky. But I had very good guidance and it was actually fun.

I went back for further training.

I felt amazing. It felt amazing.

It was what I felt while reading and more.

After climbing, my arms, legs and hands hurt. But it’s a good pain, a fulfilling one, a happy pain – if I can say there’s such thing.

I haven’t done it outside. Haven’t climbed a rock mountain. Yet…

11 thoughts on “The only way is up

  1. I don’t think I have anything I have ever really loved to do. It’s sad isn’t?
    i do however love caravanning! It’s something I’ve always wanted to have for my children so they have memories to look back on! …I will write a post about this one day! The truth about 3 kids and a dog! lol

    Like

      1. If you want a caravan do it!! it is such a relaxing way of life! I love my weekends away. I’m in the van most weekends but the downside to that is no wifi! I brought a little wifi EE thingy but it was rubbish! lol

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I smile at the exhilaration in your voice 🙂
    I would like to invite you to my monthly blog party which is taking place at the moment. It’s a lovely opportunity to connect with other awesome bloggers like you and I hope to see you. The party link is titled, Summery blog party live link…Regards, Jacqueline

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

